Australia-Canada Economic Leadership 2020 Directors and Officers


Norman Steinberg
Canadian Co-Chair, Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum

Norman is Vice-Chair of BFL Canada, one of Canada’s largest employee owned and operated Risk Management Insurance Brokerage and Employee benefits services firms.

Norman sits on various boards, including BFL Canada, Dorel Industries, Fiera Capital and is Senior Advisor to the private equity firm, Persistence Capital Partners.In the not-for-profit sector, Norman is Chair of the McGill University Health Centre Foundation, Chair of the Board of Governors of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, member of the Executive Committee (and former Chair) of the Mount Royal Club of Montreal, former President of the Canadian Club of Montreal, former Co-Chair of the Centraide (United Way) Campaign of Montreal and former member of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts Foundation.

Prior to joining BFL in 2019, Norman was the Chair of Norton Rose Fulbright Canada and the Global Chair of Norton Rose Fulbright, one of the largest law firms in the world with over 4000 lawyers located in 55 cities around the world. Norman’s career at Norton Rose Fulbright focused in M&A, corporate finance and governance, and he led legal teams in some of Canada’s biggest M&A transactions.

Norman holds a B.SC (1971) and a B.C.L (1976) from McGill University. He received the distinction Advocatus Emeritus (Ad. E.) from the Quebec Bar Association and was awarded the McGill University’s Faculty of Law F.R. Scott Award for Distinguished Service.

Jennifer Westacott
Australian Co-Chair, Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum

The Business Council of Australia is the nation’s premier business organisation, advocating for a stronger and fairer society through a more prosperous Australia. Jennifer Westacott AO has served as Chief Executive of the Business Council of Australia since 2011, bringing a unique combination of extensive policy experience in both the public and private sectors.

Under her leadership, the Business Council tirelessly champions meaningful policies that strengthen the ability of businesses to grow the economy for the benefit of all Australians. Jennifer built her career in the public sector, working in senior leadership positions in the NSW and Victorian governments. She has served as the Director General of the NSW Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Natural Resources; the Secretary of the Victorian Department of Education and Training; and the Director of Housing in Victoria. She was also the Deputy Director General of the NSW Department of Community Services, and the Deputy Director General of the NSW Department of Housing.

As a senior partner at KPMG, Jennifer advised major corporations on climate change and sustainability and advised governments across Australia on significant reform priorities. Jennifer has an unrivalled understanding of how the public and private sectors intersect and can work together to achieve the best outcomes in the national interest.

Since 2013, Jennifer has served as a Non-Executive Director of Wesfarmers Limited. She is the Chair of the Western City & Aerotropolis Authority, which is overseeing the design and delivery of the Western Sydney Aerotropolis. The global employment centre and investment hub will surround the Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport at Badgerys Creek.

Jennifer is an Adjunct Professor at the City Futures Research Centre of the University of NSW. She is the inaugural Chair of the Board of Studio Schools of Australia, and a patron of Mental Health Australia. Jennifer also serves as the Australian Co-chair of the Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum, the Co-Patron of Pride in Diversity, and as a patron of the Pinnacle Foundation. In 2018, Jennifer was made an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia. Jennifer has a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of New South Wales and in 2017 received an Honorary Degree (Doctor of Letters) from her alma mater. She was a Chevening Scholar at the London School of Economics.

Bob Onyschuk
President and Chief Executive Officer, Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum

Bob Onyschuk is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Onyschuk Strategic Advisors and the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum. He is a retired partner of Gowlings WLG specializing in real estate development, the Past Chair of the Canadian Urban Institute and the Past Canadian Chair of the Canadian Australian Chamber of Commerce. He also serves on a number of public and private sector boards and foundations in Canada.


Ann Curran

Ann Curran
Executive Director, Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum

Ann Curran is the Executive Director of the Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum.  She is also President of Curran Corporate Advisors Inc., a business consulting firm and President of T.F.C. Inc., a global sourcing and distribution company.  Prior, she was Vice President, Corporate Relations for AIC Limited, a large privately-held mutual fund company. AIC was a subsidiary of Portland Holdings Inc. until September 2009 when it was acquired by Manulife Financial Corporation. Ms. Curran was the Centennial President of The Empire Club of Canada, one of Canada’s oldest and prominent speaker’s forum of record and was Director, Business Development for Corporate Development International Canada Inc., a global merger and acquisitions consulting firm. She has worked with the Department of Finance in international relations, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) and was seconded to the Republic of the Philippines by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

Lynda Carpenter

Lynda Carpenter
Director of Events and Development, Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum

Lynda joined the Australia-Canada Economic Leadership Forum in October 2013 and is currently the Director of Events and Development. She also owns an event business and has been planning corporate and private events for over 20 years. Lynda has served on many Boards including the Consent & Capacity Board for Ontario Ministry of Health; the Burlington Community Foundation; Transitions for Youth; and the United Way. She was a Founding Director and Past-Chair of the Carpenter Hospice (2001-2015), a residential, palliative care home in Burlington, Ontario. Lynda is a Paul Harris Fellow and was awarded Woman of the Year for Burlington in 2006, recognising her philanthropy and commitment to her community. She holds a B.A. Hons in Economics from Queen’s University.